RFB’s albums of 2019

09 Dec 2019

2019 has been quite the year.

Wonderful music from forward thinking, inspiring artists has gotten us through 12 terrible months of politics, Brexit and news about impending climate change (Make sure you vote this Thursday) so as is tradition, we've rounded up some of our favourite releases to round off 2019. Hopefully there'll be some new discoveries for you as well as some shared favourites. Feel free to shout at us on Twitter about what we've missed! 

Toby L

Little Simz - Grey Area
Billie Eilish - When We Fall Asleep...
Michael Kiwanuka - Kiwanuka
Tyler, The Creator - Igor
Flying Lotus - Flamagra
Kim Gordon - No Home Record
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Ghosteen
Slowthai - Nothing Great About Britain
Weyes Blood - Titanic Rising
Fat White Family - Serf's Up

Tim Dellow

1. Lana Del Ray - Norman Fucking Rockwell
2. Andrew Wasylyk - The Paralian
3. Nick Cave - Ghosteen
4. Peggy Gou - DJ Kicks
5. Weyes Blood - Titanic Rising
6. Chromatics - Closer to Grey
4. Adrian Utley and Will Gregory - Arcadia (Music From the Motion Picture)
7. Little Simz - Grey Area
8. clipping. - There Existed an Addiction to Blood
9. Michael Kiwanuka - Kiwanuka
10. Clairo - immunity

Dan Monsell

Big Thief  - Two Hands
Orville Peck - Big Sky
Helado Negro - This is How you Smile
Little Simz - Grey Area
Holly Herndon - Proto
Kim Gordon - No Home Record
Bibio - Ribbons
Crumb - Jinx
Nick Cave - Ghosteen
Kevin Morby - oh My God

Honourable mentions:
Elder Island, Cass Mccombs, Fontaines DC, Marika Hackman, Octo Octa, Boy Harsher, Giant Swan, Chromatics, Charly Bliss, Lana Del Ray, Michael Kiwauka, Metronomy

Little Simz - Selfish
Lizzo - Good As Hell
Fontaines DC - Boys in the Better Land
KOKOKO - Azo Toke
Big Thief - Not

Honourable mentions:
Metronomy - Salted Caramel Ice cream
Orville Peck - Dead of Night
Stefllon Don, Wiley, Sean Paul, Idris Elba - Boasty

Grace O'Byrne

Lankum – A Livelong Day (Rough Trade)
We Wild Blood - Blood/Money (Hominid Sounds)
Girl Band - The Talkies (Rough Trade)
Sarathy Korwar – More Arriving (The Leaf Label)
Lizzo - Cuz I Love You (Atlantic)
Richard Dawson - 2020 (Weird World)
My Disco – Environment (Downwards Road)
Giant Swan - Giant Swan (Keck)
B I G | B R A V E - A Gaze Among Them (Southern Lord)
Cocaine Piss – Passionate and Tragic (Hypertension Records)

Richard Dawson – Jogging
Probably the UK’s greatest lyricist ‘hugely witty, but dark as fuck’.  This track has not exactly encouraged me to don the lycra but definitely has helped pick up my feet on days that they seemed to be laden with concrete.

TPM - Fuck RTE
Irish Hip-Hop is more than just a Vice Magazine article. Sometimes the most crushing truths are delivered through humour and these lads from Dundalk present all that is good (Curry Sauce) and bad (in this case the national broadcaster RTÉ and the TV licence) within modern Irish society. 

Luminous Bodies – Choices
Off their upcoming Album Nah Nah Nah Yeh Yeh Yeh on Box Records. Made up of current and former members of underground noise royalty Part Chimp, Gum Takes Tooth and Terminal Cheesecake, famously described as ‘SCUMBAG LYSERGIC RACKET.’ Let’s have it!!!!

Joy Crookes - Early ft. Jafaris
Everyone who knows me will be wondering why this breezy chilled track is on the list but from first listen I’ve been captivated by Crookes’ soul filled voice and the ambiguity of the song’s message.  Is this an ode to beautiful everlasting love or a regretful lament of a love passed?  Plus shout out to Granny for letting you film a music video in their house.

Waq Waq Kingdom – Doggy Bag
Kiki Hitomi (King Midas Sound) & Shige Ishihara (DJ Scotch Egg) have released one of the most infectious songs of the year, I dare you to sit still on listening.

Rachel Hiley

A.A. Bondy – Enderness
Black Marble – Bigger Than Life
Boy Harsher – Careful
Giant Swan – Giant Swan
Girl Band - The Talkies
HTRK – Venus in Leo
Hiro Kone – A Fossil Begins to Bray
MY DISCO - Environment
Tyler, the Creator – IGOR
Lingua Ignota – Caligula
Uniform & the Body – Everything that Dies Someday Comes Back

Bambara – Serafina / Sing Me to the Street (new album 2020 and it’s gonna be everything)
Doja Cat – Juicy
Drab Majesty - Oxytocin
FKA Twigs – Cellophane
Stormzy – Vossi Bop


Jay Som - Anak Ko
Sharon Van Etten - Remind Me Tomorrow
American Football - American Football (LP3)
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Ghosteen
The Mountain Goats - In League With Dragons
Makeup and Vanity Set - Breaking News
Richard Dawson - 2020
Boy Harsher - Careful
Barrie - Happy To Be Here
Tool -  Fear Inoculum

Carly Rae Jepsen - Now That I Found You
Blanck Mass - House Vs. House
Quivers - You're Not Always On My Mind
Black Marble - Feels
NE-HI - Exit Stations

Dora Limfer

1. Caroline Polachek - Pang
2. Jai Paul - Leak 04-13 (Bait Ones)
4. Sudan Archives - Athena
5. Kelsey Lu - Blood
6. Giant Swan - Giant Swan
7. M. T. Hadley - Empty
8. Jadu Heart - Melt Away
9. (Sandy) Alex G - House of Sugar
10. Night Lovell - Goodnight Lovell

1. Schacke - Kisloty People
2. Perfume Genius - Eye in the Wall
3. Charli XCX - Silver Cross
4. Burial - Claustro
5. James Blake - Mile High (feat Travis Scott & Metro Boomin)

Elliot Callard

Clipping - There Existed an Addiction to Blood
Girl Band - The Talkies
Little Simz - Grey Area
Gong Gong Gong - Phantom Rhythm
Sudan Archives - Athena
Sarathy Korwar - More Arriving
The International Teachers of Pop - The International Teachers of Pop
Sleater-Kinney - The Centre Won’t Hold
Justin Townes Earle - The Saint of Lost Causes

Lizzo - Tempo
Little Simz - Venom
Pillow Queens - How Do I Look
Charly Bliss - Blown to Bits
Flume - High Beams (feat. HWLS & Slowthai)

Elodie Godard

Aldous Harding - Designer
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Ghosteen
Julia Jacklin - Crushing
Cate Le bon - Reward
Little Simz - Grey Area
Clairo - immunity
Foals - Part 2 Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost
black midi - Schlagenheim
Kate Tempest - The Book of Traps and Lessons
Tyler, The Creator - Igor

Squid - Houseplants
Black Midi - bmbmbm
Lazarus Kane -Narcissus
Dry Cleaning - Magic of Meghan
Arlo Parks - George

Max and Rob a.k.a Egyptian Elbows

Family Time - The Great Abismo
Yak - Pursuit of Momentary Happiness
Big Thief - UFOF
D.C Fontaines - Droggel
Sandy (AlexG) - House of Sugar
Kate Tempest - The Book of Traps and Lessons
Brockhampton - Ginger
Ida Mae - Chasing Lights
King Gizzard - Infest the Rats’ Nest
Feet - What's Inside Is More Than Just Ham

Matt Maltese - Curl up and die
Pottery - Smooth Operator
YAK - Am I a good man
Squid - Houseplants
Family Time - The Grand Collide

Charlie Hearn

1. James Blake - Assume Form
2. Angelo De Augustine - Tomb
3. Kate Tempest - The Book Of Traps And Lessons
4. Hejira - Thread of Gold
5. Sharon Van Etten - Remind Me Tomorrow
6. Little Simz - Grey Area
7. Fontaines D.C. - Dogrel
8. Orville Peck - Pony
9. Solange - When I Get Home
10. Aldous Harding - Designer

1. Kate Tempest - Hold Your Own
3. Angelo De Augustine - You Needed Love, I Needed You
3. Hejira - Joyful Mind
4. James Blake - Mile High
5. Little Simz - Offence

Other articles in this category

Please allow cookies: cookies are small text files that are safely stored on your computer. We use cookies to find out how people use this website so that we can make it even better in future. These cookies don’t contain any personal or sensitive information and are only used by Rock Feedback and our trusted partners.